St Xavier’s post win; St Joseph’s held at MCL Cup Bhubaneswar Inter-School Football Tournament

Report by Pratap Pradhan, Bhubaneswar: St Xavier’s High School, Kedargouri rode on a goal each by Aaron Jena and Bed Prakash Pradhan to beat DAV School, Pokhariput in their opening Group-B league match of the 29th MCL Cup Bhubaneswar Inter-School Football Tournament here at Unit-VI Boys’ High School Ground today.

Leading from the front Aaron struck in the 18th minute to enable St Xavier’s lead 1-0 at the half-time. After change of ends, Bed Prakash clinched victory for St Xavier’s, scoring their second goal in style. After receiving a pass from the left flank in the 38th minute, Bed hoodwinked two defenders before beating the opposition goalkeeper with booming right-footer to the right corner of the net. For this beautiful goal he received the player of the match prize from former Odisha opening batsman Prashant Mohapatra.

Earlier in the day, new entrants Palasuni High School held St Joseph’s High School to a goalless draw in their first Group-A match. Guru Mandari of Palasuni High was adjudged the player of the match and he received the prize from Bhubaneswar Athletic Association vice-president Priyanath Mishra.

Today’s matches were officiated by referees Prakash Kumar Das, Pradipta Nayak, Saroj Moharana, Kirti Ranjan Swain and Bulbul Bhoi.

Tomorrow’s matches (Aug 10):
1. Unit-VI Boys’ High School vs Venkateswar English Medium School
2. Times Gurukul School vs Stewart School

Comments are closed.