Odisha: Media Excellence Awards to be held on December 15

Bhubaneswar: In a bid to recognise the growing importance of work being done by print, broadcast (television and radio) and online news services and honour media professionals for their outstanding contributions in these fields, Media@Change, a forum of, by and for media professionals in Odisha, would be giving away the ‘Media Excellence Awards’. The first edition of this award ceremony will be held on December 15 at Hotel Swosti Premium.
The awards will make a humble attempt to recognise and appreciate pioneering work of media professionals who demonstrate a passionate commitment in advancing quality journalism and promoting free and fair flow of news and exchange of opinions. The idea is to encourage working journalists and media practitioners to continue being committed to high standards in their profession.
Supported by an advisory board of eminent media professionals, PNV Foundation has facilitated formation of the forum, Media@Change, to help conduct the award ceremony every year. The forum also plans to pursue activities dedicated towards development of media in Odisha.
The Media Excellence Awards will be chosen by a jury comprising eminent media persons, academicians and distinguished citizens.
The Award Categories include Best Reporter (English), Best Reporter (Odia), Best Photo Journalist, Best Feature Writer and Best Cartoonist/Illustrator for Print Media; Best Reporter, Best Video Journalist, Best Anchor (Male) and Best Anchor (Female) for Electronic Media and Best Web Journalist. That apart, two special awards – Lifetime Achievement Award and Outstanding Journalism (At National/International Level).
The award distribution ceremony will be preceded by a quiz for media students and a conclave. The theme of the conclave will be “Muzzling the Media and the Future of Journalism.”. Dr. Damodar Rout, Honourable Minister, Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare, Mr. Prasad Harichandan, President, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee, Mr. Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, Founder-Chairman, Eastern Media Limited, Mr. Pratap Chandra Sarangi, Senior BJP Leader and Mr. Kharabela Swain, President, Utkal Bharat will be the speakers at the conclave.

Comments are closed.