Human Rights and Responsibility Day Observed with Book Release

Bhubaneswar: ‘The world must adopt to environment-friendly lifestyle’, said Prof. S. N. Pandey, the Pro-Chancellor of Global Open University, Nagaland in the national seminar “Environmental Philosophy for 21st Century” organised by Pattnaik India Foundation at University of Delhi yesterday.
In a 3-hour long seminar paper presentations and poetry recitations, the scholars and academicians of University of Delhi (DU), Delhi Technological University (DTU) and Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU) deliberated upon the present global warming and climate change. “We do not have a fixed notion of “what is human right?” Nor do we have a defined set of human responsibility. We are more concerned with human rights that address urgent and practically or potentially relevant to all humans. But the same is not true to human responsibility, however intensity and urgent human approach it demands. We should think of responsibilities beyond human rights”, lamented Dr. Nirmal Pattnaik, the convener of the program and the chairman of the charitable foundation.
The trust conferred Dr. N. K. Kakkar, former DUTA president and a suave, gentle and thorough academician with more than five decades of teaching experience in Delhi University and abroad and Dr. Krishna Jain, retired associate professor of philosophy from Janaki Devi Mahila College (JDMC, DU) with Face of Humanity Award for the year 2018.
Amidst deliberations on human responsibility for value system and environmental philosophy by many participants, a scholarly paper entitled ‘Politics on Jharakhand Movement’ was presented by Dr. Rachna Kumari Prasad.
The seminar was concluded with book release of ‘Human Rights and Responsibility’ by the chief guest Prof. Pandey which was edited by Dr. Pattnaik and authored by 41 writers from academicians, administrators, social workers, judicial professionals and many other professional on different aspects of human rights and responsibility.
To mark the occasion, mementos were presented to distinguished personalities, namely, Prof. S. N. Pandey, Dr. N. K. Kakkar, Dr. Krishna Jain, Prof. K. K. Panda, Dr. PV Khatri, Dr. Tapan Biswal, Dr. Rama, Dr. Sriram Oberoi, Dr. Vibha Singh Chauhan, Srideb Nanda, Pramod Kumar, Rajib Ray, Dr. S. N. Mishra, Rajiv Sharma, Mamta Gantayat, Dr. Pradyuman Kumar and Prof. Rajvir Sharma.
The programme was anchored by founder trustee Alpana Pattnaik and vote of thanks was given by Utkal Bharatee managing editor Madhusmita Pattnaik.

Comments are closed.