Celebration of “Mahila Kisan Divas” and “World Food day” at ICAR-CIWA on 16th

Bhubaneswar: Mahila Kisan Divas and World Food day was celebrated at ICAR-CIWA on 16th October 2017.
Honourable DDG (Education) ICAR, Dr. Narendra Singh Rathore attended the programme as Chief
Guest while Dr. P. Pandey, ADG (EP&HS) ICAR, Smt. Sujata R. Karthikeyan, IAS, Commissioner cum
Director, Odisha Watershed Development Mission, Dr. S.N. Pasupalak, V.C. OUAT and Dr. D.P Ray,
Former V.C. OUAT were the Guest of Honour. The farm women of Odisha heartily welcomed the guests
in a traditional style followed by plantation of saplings by the delegates. In this programme, Dr. Jatinder
Kishtwaria, Director of the institute warmly welcomed the guests and other dignitaries. She highlighted
the role of ICAR-CIWA in addressing gender issues in agriculture and women empowerment. On the eve
of Mahila Kisan Divas, quiz and debate competitions were organized in four villages under Mera Gaon
Mera Gaurav programme and women winners were selected. The Chief Guest honoured these
farmwomen with certificates and awards followed by release of publication. Through his presidential
address, he justified the significance of farm women and raised their issues in agriculture. About 250
progressive farm women of Odisha, Directors, Heads, Scientists of ICAR & SAU and officials from
different development organisations had participated the event. For dissemination of information on
government schemes and programmes, a knowledge facilitation workshop was also organized where
NABARD, Odisha Livelihood Mission, Department of Horticulture, IMAGE and CARE India had
participated as knowledge partners. In this event, several exhibition stalls were arranged by various
agencies to display improved gender friendly farm technologies. The event was successfully organized by
Dr. Ananta Sarkar and Dr. L. P. Sahoo as nodal along with active involvement of Dr. S.K. Srivastava, Dr.
Anil Kumar, Dr. Sabita Mishra, Dr. A.K. Panda, Dr. B. Sahu, Dr. Jyoti Nayak, Dr. Charles Jeeva, Dr.
Tanuja, Ms. Gayatri Moharana, Er. Chaitrali Mahtre, Mrs. Ankita Sahu, Mr. Jairam Biswal, Mr. Janardan
Biswal and other staff members of ICAR-CIWA.

Comments are closed.