Telugu Desam Party Ministers quit NDA Cabinet

New Delhi: The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) on Thursday quit the NDA government, with its ministers P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju (Civil Aviation) and Y.S. Chowdary (Science and Technology) submitting their resignations.

The two ministers drove to Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s residence and handed over their resignations in accordance with the party’s decision to resign over the TDP’s charge that the Centre was not granting special status to Andhra Pradesh.

The decision comes amid the ongoing deadlock over the granting of ‘special category’ status to Andhra Pradesh.

TDP leader YS Chowdary, said that due to unavoidable circumstances he is stepping down from the Union government while adding that TDP will continue to be a partner of NDA.

Meanwhile two BJP Ministers in Andhra cabinet submitted their resignation to the CM Chandrababu Naidu in Hyderabad.

Earlier, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley has said that the Centre is committed to give Andhra Pradesh a financial assistance equivalent to a special category state.

Comments are closed.