Odisha Cup 2018: 6th Edition Of Odisha Cup Cricket Tournament In Uae Started With A Senior Cup Match

Bhubaneswar:  It was a bright sunny day and the weather was perfect for a senior cricket match at Al batayeh ground on 12th October. The match was played in the midst of a huge gathering of crowd who enjoyed the game of cricket. Many dignitary guests were present to cheer two teams namely Odisha Samaj Abudhabi Seniors and Odia Gladiators. With this match Odisha Cup Cricket organizing committee started their journey of 6th edition of the Odisha Cup that started on 19th October with 10 participant teams which is a record in itself as the largest prabasi Odia Cricket Tournament outside India.
Odisha Cup 2018 Seniors 12th October 2018
Odia Gladiator’s captain Shadab won the toss and elected to bat first and set a target of 83 runs for OSA seniors. Subhransu Jana scored a blistering knock of 32 runs in 23 balls that helped Odia Gladiators set a decent target for OSA seniors. But in the end it was not enough as Jayant from OSA Seniors played a breathtaking innings and stole the show with 39 runs of only 31 balls and hit three towering sixes. OSA Seniors won the match with 8 wickets in hand. Overall it was a fun filled and entertaining get away for all the Odia families who relished the Odia food with a memorable cricket match.
Odisha Cup 2018 19th October 2018 Sixth edition of Odisha Cup started on 19th October with four league matches. Odia Samaj Abudhabi played with Utkal Challengers and Jagannath Seva Sangh played with Fujairah Odia Asociation in the morning sessions at Ajman ground amidst an enthusiastic Odia crowd where the Odisha Cup song was also released and players joy knew no bounds to hear the song as they danced to the tune of Odisha Cup song written, composed and sung by Arupanada Das from Fujairah who happens to be the captain of FOA team as well.
In the 2nd sessions Odisha Blaster played with Star 11 and Kalinga Warriors played with Utkal Rising Star who entered Odisha Cup for the first time.
Below is the list of winners and man of the match for first four league matches:
OSA vs UC – OSA won by 81 runs, MoM – Saifur RehmanJSS vs FOA – FOA won by 65 runs, MoM – Himanshu DasOB vs Star XI Odisha – OB won by 45 runs, MoM – Deepak JenaKW vs URS – KW won by 67 runs, MoM – Mithun Jena

At the end it was a perfect jaunt and spectacle of brotherhood of Odia community ably organized by Odisha Cup Cricket Organizing committee of UAE. Several Prabashi Odia luminaries of UAE were present to witness the cricketing extravaganza whose encouragement catapulted the performance of all the participant teams.

Comments are closed.