Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik conferred Biju Patnaik Sports Award to Photo-Journalist Ashok Panda

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik conferred Biju Patnaik Sports Award to Photo-Journalist Ashok Panda at Jaydev Bhawan today. Journalists Ashok Kumar Panda and Rajanikanta Satrusalya were awarded for their contribution towards sports journalism in Odisha.

Journalist Ashok Kumar Panda currently working for Odia daily The Samaya and associate with English national daily The Times of India and Odisha’s oldest and leading web portal www.orissadiary.com .

Coach Panchanana Gantayat was felicitated with the Lifetime Achievement award while Dutee Chand and Sanhita Das were awarded as the Best Sportsman and Best Trainer award respectively.

Sports Trainer and founder of Utkal Karate School in Bhubaneswar Dr. Hariprasad Pattnayak was awarded for his Best Contribution in Promotion of Sports and Games in the state.
Founder of Utkal Karate School in Bhubaneswar Hariprasad Pattnayak has been awarded for the Best Contribution to Promotion of Sports and Games.

Harischandra Hiaal and Mohan Garada were given the Biju Patnaik Bravery Award for rescuing five children during a flash flood last year.

Six sportsperson with disability were given cash prizes in the Outstanding Sportspersons category. Pramod Bhagat (Para Badminton), Jayanti Behera (Para Atheletics), Rajesh Meher (Special Olympics), Jafar Iqbal and Sukhram Majhi (Blind Cricket) were the awardees.

Dipsan Tirkey, G.Narahari, Bonita Lakra and Bignaraj Miridia were also awarded in the outstanding sports persons category.

The State Award for Social Service was also conferred on social activist Meera Parida, Dinesh Kumar Mallick, Manoj Kumar Dani, Jhasaketan Ranaj, Gracy Mol Singh and Chinmaya Kumar Bebarta.

Comments are closed.