Mada Mukti Yuva Yatra demands for Total Prohibition

Bhubaneswar: After visiting hundreds of villages in the route, Mada Mukti Yuva Yatra, a 3-day long bike rally for total prohibition concludes at Bhubaneswar today. In a letter to Chief Minister Naveen Pattnaik, the protestors reiterates their demands and warned, if demands are not fulfilled the government will face a mass protest in near future.
Under the aegis of Mada Mukti Yuva Bahini, a youth outfit of Milita Odisha Nisha Nibarana Abhijana(MONNA) hundreds of youths takes their demands to the street through a bike rally from Namatara to Assembly from 30th March for total prohibition. In the route the volunteers visited Hundreds of villages of Kedrapada, Jajpur, Cuttack & Khurda to unite sympathizers against liquor menace.
Speaking to media persons Sri Satyabrata Prusty, Convenor, Mada Mukti Yuva Bahini Said, “The pinch of liquor menace is prevalent in every nook and corner of the state which has already ruined many budding lives, many children have become orphan, young women are becoming widows every day apart from ruining the socio-cultural and economic conditions of rural populace. In a nut shell, liquor is destroying our youths’ present and future.”
Reiterating their demands Sri Padma Charan Nayak, President, Milita Odisha Nisha Nibarana Abhijana (MONNA), “We again put forward our demands passed through a resolution in January. Which includes, enforcement of Total prohibition including the withdrawal and non renewal of all types of licenses for manufacturing, distributing and selling of all types of liquor with immediate effect, Unconditional withdrawal of police cases against the anti-liquor activists in the state, Compensation to the anti-liquor activists who are injured or killed by police or the goons of liquor mafias, Declare Sri Dileswar Dandsena, Srimati Urmila Kahanr, Shri Meta Lakra and others as martyrs who were killed during the anti-liquor movements, The RDC investigation report of police firing at Namtara on 8 March 2015 be placed on the floor of the Assembly and the steps taken there of and other similar cases of atrocities be investigated by a Special Investigating Team, culprits be identified and punished immediately.”
Among others present on the occasion includes, Kanhu Charan Behura, Preeti Nayak, Ramakant Mandal, Malay Tripathy, Tarakant Nayak, Adwaita Patra, Indumati Sahoo, Priyanath Acharya, Khageswara Bal, Abhijit Patra, Kailash Mallick etc.

Comments are closed.