Dinabandhu Maharana to receive 6th Shambhavi Puraskar

Bhubaneswar: Dinabandhu Maharana has been selected for the prestigious Shambhavi Puraskar-2019. He will receive a citation and cash award of Rs. 2,50,000 at the function to be held on 19th March 2019.

The award will be presented by Chief Guest, Sri Bibek Debroy, Chairman,Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister & Member,NITI Aayog, Govt. of India. Sri Abasar Beuria,IFS(Retd.),Former Ambassador will attend the function as guest of honour.

The Shambhavi Puraskar recipient Sri Dinabandhu Maharana, a qualified Vaidya who brought about a positive change in the lives of the people residing in the Kandhamal District of Odisha. He has instilled a sense of ‘community ownership’ in this remote and tribal area. His organization ‘Kandhamal Zilla Sabuj Vaidya Sangathan’ (KZSVS) runs a program for creating and managing public infrastructure in the region and uses the innovative concept of Cloth for Work (CFW). CFW pays beneficiaries for their labour in the form of clothes, shoes and other basic necessities, instead of cash. He started the CFW initiative in April 2008 from a small village called Dipumaha in Daringibadi block and took it upon himself to bring about changes in the area with regards to the difficulties the community experienced as a result of a lack of connectivity and accessibility..

Playing the Good Samaritian in Cuttack town since 2008,Sri Abhimanyu Das has been selected for the “Jury Commendation Certificate” and will be conferred with a citation and a cash award of Rs 50,000/-. Sri Das has showed an exemplary gusto by supporting the patients suffering from life threatening disease like cancer.His modest income as book binder never stopped him from from helping those in need.


Comments are closed.