Connections 2019: IIMCAA hosts chapter level annual alumni meets at Bhubaneswar and Dhenkanal

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chapter of Indian Institute of Mass Communication Alumni Association (IIMCAA) organized its chapter level annual alumni meet – Connections 2019 – at Dhenkanal and Bhubaneswar on Sunday (March 3, 2019).

The annual meet held at Bhubaneswar brought together more than 100 former students of this premier journalism institute, who currently hold various positions at various media organizations and corporates. Senior Correspondent of the Business Standard Shri Jayajit Dash received IFFCO IIMCAA Award 2019 in Economic and Business Reporting (Jury Special Mention) on the occasion.

Senior alumni of IIMC Shri Jajati Karan, Dr. Ashish Dwivedi, Ms. Sangeeta Agarwal, President of Andhra Pradesh Chapter Shri Byomokesh Biswal and others spoke on the occasion. Other winners of IFFCO IIMCAA Award 2019 also shared their experience about the National Alumni meet held at Delhi and the award.

At Connection 2019 held at Dhenkanal, Prof. Regional Director of IIMC and Odisha Chapter Patron of IIMCAA, Dr. Mrinal Chatterjee graced the occasion as Guest. IIMCAA presented three awards to the present batch students in the name of former teachers at IIMC Dhenkanal Campus. Prof. Chintamani Mohapatra Memorial Award was presented to Shri Bharat Bhushan Parida and Prof. BB Mohanty Memorial Award was presented to Shri Swapnil Jogelkar, while Prof. KM Shrivastava Memorial Award was given to Ms. Priyanka Joshi.

IIMCAA’s Executive President Shri Reetesh Anand and Organising Secretary of UP Chapter Ms. Kamlesh Rathore were present at both the meetings. IIMCAA’s Organising Secretary Shri Ritesh Verma, Central Committee Member Ms. Sneha Bhattacharjee and Former Treasurer Ms. Deeksha Saxena represented Central Committee at both the meets. Shri Verma also elaborated on two new initiatives by IIMCAA – Medical Assistance Fund and Scholarship programme.

Odisha Chapter President Shri Sanjay Kumar Sahoo presided over the annual meet held at Dhenkanal and Bhubaneswar. As per suggestion by various members, he announced that Chapter level IIMCAA Award would be instituted very soon to recognize and honour various alumni of the institute who are doing excellent work in the field of journalism, public relations and communication Odisha.

General Secretary of Odisha Chapter Shri Jyoti Prakash Mohapatra thanked all the alumni, national council of IIMCAA and IIMC Dhenkanal officials for making the meet a success.

Organising Secretary of the Chapter Shri Sudhansu Patro welcomed the guests and participants at the Dhenkanal meet, while Treasurer of the Chapter Shri Kishan Barai presented the welcome address at Bhubaneswar Meet.

Comments are closed.