14th NAVAYUGA East Zone Corporate Golf Cup 2019 organized at Bhubaneswar

Bhubaneswar: Moving a way forward on the state government’s approach to make Odisha as the sports capital of India, Bhubaneswar Golf Club in association with NAVAYUGA took a noble initiative to organize the 14th NAVAYUGA East Zone Corporate Golf Cup 2019 on 12th January 2019 at Bhubaneswar, Odisha.
In a fresh cool morning, Hon’ble Minister of State (Independent Charge) for Electronics & Information Technology, Sports & Youth Services, Government of Odisha Shri Chandra Sarathi Behera inaugurated the tournament in the auspicious presence of Shri Asit Tripathy, IAS, Development Commissioner, Government of Odisha.
Addressing the gathering Shri Behera said, “I am very happy with the efforts of BGC for organizing this type of spectacular tournament in the temple city of Odisha. He also encouraged the players attending from the East Zone and motivated them to spread sportive allure throughout Odisha.
During his deliberation to the participants Shri Tripathy said, “Odisha government is taking a lot of initiatives to make sports popular among the youth. He further expressed his thanks to the Government of Odisha for successfully organizing the Hockey World Cup 2018. Giving insights on Golf, he expressed that many of our neighboring states have taken initiatives to develop world class Golf course and now it is the time for us to develop an international Golf course here at Bhubaneswar. We are looking for a suitable land to create a fully furnished Golf course in the state.”
Participants from around 25 government & corporate organizations from across the Eastern zone participated in this tournament. Players from organizations like O.T.D.C, TINPLATE Co. Ltd., JASS Solutions, Z Estates Pvt. Ltd., Toyota, Utkal Automobiles Pvt. Ltd., IMFA, Singh Automotives, IDCO, ACE Commercial Co Pvt. Ltd., TATA Steel Limited, ESSKAY Machineries, Suryo Udyog Ltd., GOI (Ministry of Finance), SRB Associates, Golden Anchor, Adani Dhamra Port, ACRUX, East Cost Railway, OBPOO Solutions Pvt. Ltd., Milk Mantra, Mahanadi Coal Fields Ltd. And P.J. Minerals International Pvt. Ltd., Royale Hotel Pvt. Ltd., Paradip Port Trust took part in this mega tournament. In the prize distributing ceremony, Smt. Raunashka Jena bagged the best lady golfer award while Shri Prashant Maurya bagged best outstation golfer award. Shri Vinayak Jamwal got the runner up award in Handicap category 19-24, Smt. Lakhi Swain bagged the winner prize in Handicap category 19-24, Shri Ranjit Singh bagged runner up trophy in Handicap category 0-18 while Shri Satyajyoti Mohanty got the winner award in Handicap category 0-18. Shri Dalbir Singh got best gross scorer prize and Z Estates & Singh Automotives bagged winner and runner up prize respectively for corporate sectors.
At the outset of the tournament, a colourful inauguration ceremony was conducted with much vigor and Shri Asit Tripathy IAS, Development Commissioner, Government of Odisha as well as President Bhubaneswar Golf Club also thanked Shri Rajib Sekhar Sahoo, Convener, Corporate Golf Tournament, Shri Tapan Mohanty, Secretary, Bhubaneswar Golf Club, Shri Dalbir Singh, Captain, Bhubaneswar Golf Club, and Shri Ishan De Souza, Tiger Sports Marketing for their successful organization of the tournament.
It has been noted here that The Bhubaneswar Golf Club is the city’s premier Golf Club with a 9 hole course and a plan to develop into a full-fledged 18 hole golf course in future. Situated inside the info city, it is surrounded on one side by country’s leading IT companies and stretches of forests and hillocks on the other side giving one of the most picturesque views from the pavilion of the club house. The club house sits on top of one of the hills with change rooms, bar-cum-restaurant, conference hall, card room, billiards room and a business lounge. The club’s membership includes the who’s who of the state’s capital and is a happening place for sporting and social activities.

Comments are closed.