Prof. Ganeshi Lal sworn in as Governor of Odisha


Bhubaneswar: Professor Ganeshi Lal was sworn in as the Governor of Odisha at a solemn function here at Raj Bhavan today. Chief Justice of High Court of Orissa Shri Justice Vineet Saran administered the oath of office to Prof. Lal in the swearing-in ceremony held at Abhishek Hall of Raj Bhavan this afternoon.

The proceedings started with the permission and then reading out of the Warrant of Appointment received from President of India by Chief Secretary Shri Aditya Prasad Padhi.

Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik, Union Minister for Oil and Petroleum Gas and Skill Development Shri Dharmendra Pradhan, Judges of High Court of Orissa, Ministers from Odisha and Haryana Government, Leader of Opposition in Odisha Legislative Assembly, State BJP President, senior most officers of state administration, Principal Secretary to Governor were among others present on the occasion. Wife of new Governor, other family members and relations and well wishers from Haryana also attended the swearing in ceremony.

Gun salute was presented in the honour of new Governor by State Police Force. The Governor was given a guard of honour by infantry division of the Odisha State Police, at the end of the ceremony.
Prof. Lal succeeds Shri Satya Pal Malik who was holding additional charge of Odisha along with his own as Governor of Bihar. Lal was a Professor of Mathematics. He was a former Minister of Haryana during 1996-99.

Comments are closed.