Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik presented Biju Patnaik Award to Prof Dr Lalit Mohan Das

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik presented Biju Patnaik Award for Scientific Excellence to Prof Dr Lalit Mohan Das for his immense contribution to the field of science and technology. He also gave away the Samanta Chandra Sekhar Award to Prof Dr Pradeep Kumar Chand, Dr Swati Mohanty and Dr Ajay Parida along with Young Scientist awards to Dr Biswaranjan Paital, Dr Sasmita Mohapatra, Dr Milan Kumar Biswal and Dr Swarup Kumar Parida.
Felicitating several other distinguished scientists, he urged the scientific community to develop technology to benefit the masses and make a difference to the lives of the person at the bottom of social pyramid. It is most important that the technology development should not be confined to journals and applied in the field to help the society. State’s academic and research institutions have to continuously strive for out-of-the-box solutions.
He reiterated State Government’s resolve to promote science for social good and motivate children towards science. We are providing scholarships, fellowships, grants and financial assistance to encourage students of science and research. He stated that top priority is being accorded to research. Focused policies like Biotechnology Policy and State Data Policy will help achieve the objective.
He laid emphasis on science and technology as the pivots of fast, sustainable and inclusive development. Technology is an important component of 3Ts –Teamwork, Technology and Transparency principles which have been adopted for good governance and public service delivery. This will lead to fourth T that of Transformation of state and people’s lives.
He congratulated the recipient of awards and scientific community and sought everyone’s cooperation in making Odisha a Knowledge Society where scientific research and application of technology touches lives of people.

Comments are closed.