Monsoon session of Odisha Legislative Assembly began with tributes to departed political leaders of India , ex-members Assembly

Bhubaneswar: The monsoon session of the Odisha Legislative Assembly began today with tributes to departed political leaders of India and later adjourned for a day.

As the assembly members gathered, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik moved the condolence motion over the demise of former PM Atal Bihari Vajpayee, former LS Speaker Somnath Chatterjee, former Tamil Nadu CM M. Karunanidhi and several ex-members of the House.

Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik condoled the demise of former Prime Minister Late Atal Bihari Vajapayee, former Lok Sabha speaker Late Somnath Chatterjee and former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Late Muthuvel Karunanidhi, on opening day of monsoon session of Odisha Assembly. He joined legislators to express profound grief on the loss of the leaders and prayed for peace of departed souls.

He also condoled the passing away of ex-minister Jadunath Dash Mohapatra and ex-members of the House, Suryamani Jena, Braja Kishore Mohanty and Muralidhar Kuanr saying it is a great loss to the State. The Chief Minister also expressed profound grief on the demise of ex-constable of Odisha Police Sanjay Majhi, who laid down his life in a Maoist attack

Leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra and BJP legislature party leader KV Singhdeo also supported the condolence motion and paid tributes to the departed leaders.

Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat adjourned the House till tomorrow as a mark of respect to the departed souls.

Notbaly, the 13th session of the Odisha Legislative Assembly will have a total of 11 working days and conclude on September 20.



Comments are closed.