Media Excellence Awards’ conferred to eminent media professionals of Odisha

Bhubaneswar: In a bid to recognise the growing importance of work being done by print, broadcast (television and radio) and online news services and honour media professionals for their outstanding contributions in these fields, Media@Change, a forum of, by and for media professionals in Odisha, would be giving away the ‘Media Excellence Awards’. The first edition of this award ceremony was held on December 15 at Hotel Swosti Premium.

The Awards has made a humble attempt to recognise and appreciate pioneering work of media professionals who demonstrate a passionate commitment in advancing quality journalism and promoting free and fair flow of news and exchange of opinions. The idea is to encourage working journalists and media practitioners to continue being committed to high standards in their profession.

Supported by an advisory board of eminent media professionals, PNV Foundation has facilitated formation of the forum, Media@Change, to help conduct the award ceremony every year. The forum also plans to pursue activities dedicated towards development of media in Odisha.

The Media Excellence Awards was chosen by a jury comprising eminent media persons, academicians and distinguished citizens.

The awards were given away to Siba Mohanty for Best Reporter (English), Sandip Pani for Best Reporter (Odia), Sanjib Das for Best Photo Journalist, Himanshu Guru for Best Feature Writer (English), Ranjan Rath for Best Feature (Odia) and Utkal G. Nanda for Best Cartoonist/Illustrator for categories in Print Media.

Similarly, Ajit Singh for Best Reporter, Sitam Moharana for Best Video Journalist, Bhabani Shankar Mohapatra for Best Anchor (Male) and Gayatri Mohanty for Best Anchor (Female)for categories in electronic media. Basudev Mahapatra received the Best Web Journalist award. Sangram Mishra received the Best Radio Jockey Award.That apart, two special awards – Lifetime Achievement Award, which was given away to Sarat Mishra, while Subhra Priyadarshini received the Outstanding Journalism (at National/International Level)

The award distribution ceremony was preceded by a quiz for media students and a conclave. The theme of the conclave was “Muzzling the Media and the Future of Journalism.” Dr. Damodar Rout, Honourable Minister, Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare, Mr. Prasad Harichandan, President, Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee, Mr. Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, Founder-Chairman, Eastern Media Limited, Mr. Pratap Chandra Sarangi, Senior BJP Leader and Mr. Kharabela Swain, President, Utkal Bharat were the speakers at the conclave.

Comments are closed.