26th OMC Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award Festival 2020 5th to 9th September

Bhubaneswar: Over the last 25 years, what started as a one‐day celebration of the classical Arts is now considered one of the finest classical dance and music festivals in India’s cultural calendar.
The OMC Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award Festival has always been organised with one specific aim—to create and sustain awareness of our classical traditions in dance and
music. Last year, Srjan celebrated 25 years of the festival, a milestone in their journey of Art.
Srjan, as a premier cultural institution of the nation, recognizes the need to sustain creative energy and artistic endeavour while fulfilling its social responsibility to the public and the members of the Art fraternity. In line with this, Srjan is organizing the 26th  OMC Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award Festival from September 5th to 9th, 2020 on a digital platform, premiered on Facebook Live and YouTube, owing to the exigencies of the ongoing pandemic. The event will be Inaugurated by the eminent cine actress Smt. Hema Malini and attended virtually by several dignitaries, influential citizens, and luminaries from the world of Art. The Award Festival will be conducted with strict adherence to all the government mandated COVID‐19 safety guidelines, while maintaining the required social distancing norms.
The aim of instituting and presenting the Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award, which carries a respectable allocation of Rs. 1,00,000/‐ and a citation, is to confer recognition
upon individuals for their outstanding contribution to the fields of Dance, Music, Cinema, and Theatre. Over 25 years, Srjan has presented 60 such awards to luminaries from these
fields. Additionally, the Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Yuva Pratibha Samman, with a cash prize of Rs. 25,000/‐ and a citation is presented to exceptionally talented performing artistes under the age of 40 years in the field of classical dance and Odissi music to
acknowledge their outstanding performances.
The Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Award 2020 will be presented to Shri Raj Gopal Mishra, veteran cinematographer for his invaluable contribution and lifetime achievements to the world of Odia Cinema. The Guru Kelucharan Mohapatra Yuva Pratibha Samman will be presented to Shri Pravat Kumar Swain for Odissi dance and to Shri Himansu Sekhar Swain for Odissi music acknowledging their dedication to their art forms. The Awards will be given by His Excellency Prof.Ganeshi Lal, Hon’ble Governor of Odisha.

Comments are closed.