Another Fine laurel added to Bhubaneswar Cycling and Adventure Club with a 1000 km cycling for the first time in Odisha

Bhubaneswar: “The gem cannot be polished without friction, nor man perfected without trials.” This Christmas Weekend was one of the most cherished moments in the history of cycling in Odisha, when Bhubaneswar Cycling and Adventure Club (BCAC) conducted the first mega cycling BRM 1000 Km (One Thousand Kms) event as per the format followed by Audax Club Parisien and Audax India Randonneurs.

It was a show of grit and guts, a show of camaraderie, a show of overcoming personal fear zones, and a show of individual introspection. It was a show that reveals what a person is from inside out. This BRM didn’t only explore the physical capabilities of a person, but made him transparent and expressed what he thinks and what he is capable of.

On the wee hours of Friday, 24th December, 2021, (-) set out on their saddle to an unknown territory of cycling within a maximum allocated time of 75hours. They never knew what was coming for them for the next 1000Kms when they cried “ ” at the starting line in front of VIR-11, Unit-6, Bhubaneswar. “Ghepan Raja” is the Clan Deity of BCAC since its formation and the very first adventure of Manali-Leh- in 2014.

“Ride-Eat-Rest-Repeat” – was continued for the next 75 hours, for every rider away from their normal life, professional commitments, personal comforts, and a lot of other regular things. The only target was to cross the 1000Km mark within 75 allocated hours on the saddles forgetting whatsoever came in their way, be it physical discomfort, or weather challenges or technical glitches or exhaustion. After those allocated time limits at the finish line, BCAC witnessed one of the most successful events in its history with (-) ! This was the entire story in short!

This event graced BCAC with many first to its credit! . , , & BCAC President, . , , , – to complete a 1000 BRM. Mr. Biswajit Tarai became the -! Ms. Sipra Hota became the to successfully complete a 1000 BRM. !
BCAC congratulates all successful finishers Susmit Das, Sibasis Mohanty, Manoj Prusty, Ranjit Kumar Sahoo, Pravasa Ranjan, Sujit K Goswami, Ranjan Kumar Sahoo, Ramesh Sahu, Anil Mallick, Sushanta Tripathy, Sahadeva Sahoo, Budheswar Dehuri, Vinit Kumar, Ajay Kumar Nanda, Gangadhar Nayak, Bibhu Prasad Rath, Santosh Kumar Rout of this 1000 BRM conducted under the banner of Audax India Randonneurs, Audax Club Parisien and Les Randonneurs Mondiaux.

Stories won’t end just here. It was a new dawn for long-distance cycling, an attempt of bravery and a show of extreme sportsmanship. Stay tuned with this ever-vibrant cycling club in Odisha creating opportunities in the field of health and fitness.

Comments are closed.