NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh elected deputy chairman of Rajya Sabha

New Delhi: NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh elected Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman with 125 votes, UPA’s BK Hariprasad got 105 votes. Biju Janata Dal supported NDA Candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh .

The election to the post of Deputy Chairman of the Rajya Sabha held today. Ruling NDA candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh of JD (U) and Opposition nominee BK Hariprasad of Congress lock horns for the coveted constitutional post.


The current strength of the Rajya Sabha is 244 and support of 123 members needed for a win in the full House. BJP is the largest party in the House with 73 members and the Congress has 50 members. The BJD (with nine seats) on Wednesday threw its weight behind BJP-led NDA in the election for the deputy chairperson of Rajya Sabha .


BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik earlier said that his party will extend support to Harivansh Narayan Singh and he had spoken to PM Narendra Modi, Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, BJP National President Amit Shah and Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh earlier in this regard.

Comments are closed.