Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seat expected to witness triangular contest in 2019 polls

Report by Kahnu Nanda,Jagatsinghpur: This time the Jagatsinghpur reserved Lok Sabha seat will witness triangular contest in 2019 Parliamentary elections. In 2014 polls BJD candidate had won the seat defeating Congress candidate, BJP had endured third position after securing only 10.78 percent votes but this time saffron party has increased its growth likely to cross above 20 percent votes which indicates that a triangular contest is inevitable for the Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seat first time.
Due to coalition arrangement BJD had left the seat to the CPI in 2009 polls and BJD backed CPI candidate Bibhu Prasad Tarai had won the seat defeating congress candidate Ravindra Sethy, BJP candidate Baidhar Mallick remained third gaining only 10.08 percent vote the election had fought straight contest between CPI and Congress.
Congress after being unable to field a suitable party candidate later fielded Bibhu Prasad Tarai who crossed over from the CPI and joined Congress eying party ticket later succeeded gaining party ticket and fought the 2014 elections against BJD aspirant Dr Kulamani Samal but defeated miserably by huge margin of 2, 76, 394 votes. After being failure to get a suitable candidate after a long search the BJP had nominated its former candidate Baidhar Mallick who despaired party only secured 1, 17,448 votes became unable putting party for triangular contest in 2014 lok Sabha polls.
Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seat was created in 1977 after it was carved out from the Puri Parliamentary constituency , Pradyumna Bal of the BLD had been elected to the Parliament in the first elections by securing about 57 percent votes against congress rival Basudev Mohapatra who got only 29.74 percent votes.
After that the choice of the voters fluctuated between Congress and non-Congress parties. The congress has the credit of winning from the constituency four times in 1980, 1984, 1996 and 1998 while CPI emerged victorious in 1989, 1991 and 2009, BLD once in 1977 and BJD thrice in 1999, 2004 and 2014.
On the other hand BJP appeared in Jagatsinghpur parliamentary seat in the 1991 elections, party candidate Sangram Mohanty fought the election got only 13378 votes, subsequently in the 1996 Lok Sabha polls BJP fielded cine star Prasanta Nanda for the seat who scored only 56,137 votes which calculates at 7.08 percent out of total polling.
After BJD and BJP parted ways in 2009, the BJD gave the seat to its new alliance CPI, which got the seat defeating Congress candidate Ravindra Sethy by margin of 76,735 votes. The BJD backed CPI candidate Bibhu Prasad Tarai secured 4, 57,234 votes and Congress candidate had got 3, 80,499 votes. The BJP made its appearance in 2009 elections, fielded its candidate Baidhar Mallick who scored 99,085 votes, the elections had drawn a straight fight between Congress and CPI, BJP ensured incapable giving the poll a triangular contest due to its paltry vote polling.
Riding Modi wave the saffron party in 2014 polls presented its candidate Baidhar Mallick again for the Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha constituency against BJD aspirant Dr Kulamani Samal and congress nominee Bibhu Prasad Tarai. But did not earn sizable votes giving for a triangular contest, again it became straight fight between BJD and Congress, BJD candidate Dr Samal received a record number 6,24,492 votes followed Congress 3,48,098 votes and BJP 1,17,448 votes estimate at 10.78 percent.
Analyzing the BJP progress in last two elections the saffron party has not grown in coastal Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seat as desired by party higher ups. Political observers viewed that voters are being inclined to cast vote in favour of BJP for Parliamentary elections but due to suitable candidate, lack of district leadership, proper mobilization and canvassing of central schemes meant for public, people are weakening their faith on BJP and the party vote ratio remaining steady.
Sources added that candidate selection had become a herculean task for the BJP for Jagatsinghpur Lok Sabha seat in 2019 elections. Former candidate Baidhar Mallick was aspiring for the seat third time but sources added that party was not happy with Mallick re nominating again. Later selected Bibhu Prasad Tarai who crossed over from Congress joined BJP. BJD too fielded new face Dr Rajashree Mallick replacing its sitting MP Dr Kulamani Samal, congress played woman card looking BJD’s woman candidate, picked up Pratima Mallick daughter of congress late veteran Laxman Mallick for the seat. As many as 9 candidates were gear up for the poll battle.

Comments are closed.