Four players from Odisha included in the Indian women’s hockey team

Bhubaneswar: Four players from Odisha have been included in the Indian women’s hockey team for the upcoming tour to South Korea from March 3 to 12. They players are Sunita Lakra, Namita Toppo, Deep Grace Ekka and Lilima Minz.

Striker Rani would lead the 20-member squad, while defender Sunita Lakra would be the vice-captain. The defence would be managed by experienced Deepika joined by Suman Devi Thoudam, Deep Grace Ekka, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam and Gurjit Kaur.

Monika, Namita Toppo, Nikki Pradhan, Neha Goyal, Udita and Lilima Minz would form the midfield while Rani, Vandana Katariya, Lalremsiami, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur and Poonam Rani would form India’s attack.

Rajani Etimarpu and Swati would guard the goalpost. Team coach Harendra Singh said as the team is consistently improving in terms of fitness and speed, a good show would be showcased in Korea.

Comments are closed.