Four players from Odisha included in Indian Women’s Hockey Team for Hockey Women’s World Cup-2018

Bhubaneswar: As many as four players from Odisha have been included in an 18-member Indian Women’s Hockey Team for the Hockey Women’s World Cup-2018 scheduled to begin from July 21 in London.

They are defenders Deep Grace Ekka and Sunita Lakra, and midfielders Namita Toppo and Lilima Minz. The Indian team have been placed in Pool B along with hosts England, USA and Ireland.

The team would be led by experienced forward Rani while goalkeeper Savita would shoulder the responsibility of vice-captain. Fellow goalkeeper Rajani Etimarpu returns to the team after having been rested for the Spain tour.

India’s defence would consist of Sunita Lakra, Deep Grace Ekka, Deepika, drag-flicker Gurjit Kaur and youngster Reena Khokhar. In the midfield, Namita Toppo, Lilima Minz, Monika, Neha Goyal, Navjot Kaur and Nikki Pradhan would hold fort.

India’s captain Rani would be leading team’s forward-line along with Vandana Katariya, Navneet Kaur, Lalremsiami and Udita.


Comments are closed.