Details of number of pharmaceutical drug manufacturers in States/UTs

New Delhi : As per Central Drugs Standard Control Organisation (CDSCO), the details of number of pharmaceutical drug manufacturers, State/UT-wise, in the country as on 29-05-2020 are as given below.

Number of Pharmaceutical Units present in States and UTs as on 29-05-2020

S.No. Name of the State/UTs No. of Pharma Units
Andhra Pradesh 261
Arunachal Pradesh NIL
Assam 25
Bihar 89
Chhattisgarh 31
Goa 51
Gujarat 3332
Haryana 31
Himachal Pradesh 555
Jammu & Kashmir 55
Jharkhand 44
Karnataka 376
Kerala 100
Madhya Pradesh 267
Maharashtra 929
Manipur NIL
Meghalaya NIL
Mizoram NIL
Nagaland NIL
Odisha 18
Punjab 156
Rajasthan 128
Sikkim 45
Tamil Nadu 514
Telangana 523
Tripura 6
Uttarakhand 220
Uttar Pradesh 408
West Bengal 180
Pondicherry 86
Andaman & Nicobar Island NIL
Chandigarh 5
Delhi 63
Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu 34
Lakshadweep NIL
Total 8532

The manufacture for sale of any drug in the country is regulated under the provisions of Drugs & Cosmetics Act, 1940 and Rules, 1945 there under. Licenses for manufacture of sale are granted by the State Licensing Authorities (SLAs) appointed by respective State Governments.

The information was given by the Union Minister of Chemicals and Fertilizers, Mansukh Mandaviya in a written reply in the Lok Sabha today.

Comments are closed.