Congress bags Jagatsinghpur municipality, BJD retains Paradip

Report by Kahnu Nanda, Jagatsinghpur: The municipality votes counting and results were declared on Saturday, Congress candidate Archana Singh was elected as the new chairwoman of Jagatsinghpur municipality, and Basanta Kumar Biswal was elected as chairman of Paradeep urban body.
Official reports informed that congress backed candidate Archana Singh won the Jagatsinghpur municipality chairwoman post who defeated BJD candidate Rajashree Mohapatra in a slender margin of 220 votes. Archana Singh polled 9468 votes, Rajashree 9248 votes while BJP remained at third position earned 1447 votes, BSP aspirant 102 votes, there were four candidates were contesting for the municipality chairwoman post. Moreover, election results for councilors revealed that BJD candidates won in 9 wards, Congress 7, BJP 2, and independent 3.
In Paradeep municipality elections BJD candidate Basanta Kumar Biswal emerged victorious who defeated independent candidate Debadata Sahoo by a huge margin of 8760 votes, Basanta polled 14938 votes, Debadatta 6178, BJP 4516, another independent 2062 votes.
Apart from the election of the councilors for the Paradeep civic body, the results informed that trade unionist Bapi Sarkhel backed independent candidates won in 8 wards, BJD 7, BJP 3, congress 1 out of total 19 wards. [Ends [

Comments are closed.