Big win for Congress in Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan; Close contest between BJP, Congress in MP

New Delhi: Assembly poll results bring cheer to Congress as it makes inroads in Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh, also leads in Madhya Pradesh; Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh concedes defeat, submits resignation to Governor. People of Telangana repose faith in Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao as voters deliver a resounding victory for TRS. Last Congress bastion in North East demolished as Mizo National Front oust the Lalthanhawla led Govt, incumbent CM loses from both seats he contested. Mizo National Front President Zoramthanga calls on Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan and stake claim to form government in the state.

In the 5-state elections, Madhya Pradesh is keeping everyone on tenterhooks even in Rajasthan though Congress has emerged as the single largest party, it will need help from others to form a stable govt. Chhattisgarh is where the Congress beat the BJP hands down ejecting 15-year-old Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh from office but it lost its lone refuge in the North-East to Mizoram’s regional outfit MNF. It’s coalition experiment in Telangana also bombed spectacularly with K Chandrashekhar Rao and his TRS getting a resounding mandate.


Neither the Congress, nor the BJP seem to be getting a majority in MP. Both the parties have crossed the 100 mark in trends but seem to be falling short of the halfway mark. With the latest trend in Madhya Pradesh, Congress has won or leading on 113 seats while incumbent BJP is leading on 109. There are about 10 seats where the margin of lead is quite thin and can still see reversals. They are Ater, Nepanagar, Rajnagar, Tima garh, Bhopal Dhakshin paschim where the Congress is leading and Bina, Jaitpur, Jaora, Khargapur, and Kolaras where the BJP is leading.


In Rajasthan, the revolving door trend of the last 25 years has sustained through another election. The Congress has become the single largest party in the contest. 199 of the 200 seats in Rajasthan went to polls with polling postponed for one seat due to the demise of a candidate. According to the latest trends Congress is leading in 105 seats, while BJP is a close second, leading in 69 seats. Congress Leader Ashok Gehlot has said that Chief Ministerial candidate will be decided by the elected MLAs. In the midst of Congress Party’s success in Rajasthan Assembly Elections, Congress leader Sachin Pilot spoke to the journalists. Thanking the public, he expressed gratitude towards the voters. He further said that the party will decide later on the chief minister of the state.


In Chhattisgarh, Congress is set to form the govt after 15 years of BJP rule. Congress is poised to win 66 seats while BJP is leading on 17 seats. Congress cadres celebrated their victory in Raipur. Reacting to Chhattisgarh assembly poll results, Congress leader P L Punia said that his party accepts people’s verdict with all humility and considers this result as an assigned duty to serve the people.


Telangana provided the most early decisive leads today which turned out to be a landslide verdict in favour of the ruling Telangana Rashtra Samiti and its leader K Chandrashekhar Rao..The results seem to have given the TRS leader a major boost as he shared his intent of playing a big role in national politics from hereon with the media.

Celebrations galore over the thumping Telangana Rashtra Samiti victory in Hyderabad. The TRS is returning to power in the country’s newest state with a sweeping majority. The triumphant dance of TRS supporters at the party headquarters knew no end with cracker bursting and sweets thrown in for good measure. Caretaker Chief Minister K Chandrashekhar Rao bagged his Gajwel assembly seat with a lead OF over 58,000 votes. Speaking to the media after the landslide win. KCR said that he will now play a major role in national politics. He also said that Telangana has charted a new course for the country with its verdict.



Comments are closed.