Arvind Kejriwal to take oath as Chief Minister of Delhi today

New Delhi: Aam Aadmi Party Convenor Arvind Kejriwal will take oath as Chief Minister of Delhi today for the third time. Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Kejriwal and his Cabinet colleagues.

Mr. Kejriwal will retain all the Cabinet Ministers who were part of his last government. They are, Manish Sisodia, Satyendar Jain, Gopal Rai, Kailash Gehlot, Imran Hussain and Rajendra Gautam.

Mr. Kejriwal’s first term lasted only for 49 days and completed the full tenure in the second term. The Aam Aadmi Party swept the Delhi assembly polls held last week, bagging 62 out of 70 seats.

AIR correspondent reports around 2,000 security personnel from the Delhi Police and paramilitary forces have been deployed for the oath-taking ceremony.

According to AIR Correspondent, around 50 people from different walks of life who have contributed to Delhi’s development will share the stage with Arvind Kejriwal during the swearing-in ceremony as special guests. They include international tennis player Sumit Nagal, and Delhi government school student and beneficiary of Jai Bhim Mukhyamantri Pratibha Vikas Yojana who cracked IIT Vijay Kumar.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been invited to the ceremony, besides BJP MPs and MLAs from Delhi. Aam Aadmi Party had said that no chief minister or political leader from other states will be part of the event as it will be a ‘Delhi-specific ceremony.

Comments are closed.