Odisha Regional Chapter of Institute of Town Planners, India organizing the East Zone Conference

Bhubaneswar: The Odisha Regional Chapter, one of the 24 chapters of Institute of Town Planners, India, New-Delhi is organizing the East Zone Conference at Bhubaneswar in the Hotel The New Marrion Bhubaneswar on 19.10.2019 on the present day burning topics- “Transit Oriented Development” with the local Theme “Future Sports City – Bhubaneswar”. Due to the rapid growth of Smart City, having its planning area of 1110 sqkms., the BDA Bhubaneswar is now contemplating to prepare revised C.D.P. for the entire planning area including Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation, two Municipalities and one N.A.C. with surrounding rural pockets wherein it is expected to incorporate the concept of TOD to avoid congestion and pollution by restricting individual motor vehicle, allowing mass transport, Bi-cycle, pedestrians around the transit stations, with mixed land use and higher FAR thereby permitting residence, work place, utility and entertainment space within the area.
Besides the heritage city of Bhubaneswar has earned its entire name as the sports City after organizing World Cup Hockey in 2018 and Asian Athletes meet in 2017. The Hon’ble Chief Minister, Odisha has expressed his desire to give great emphasis on Sports as the Investment in youth and youth are investment for future. Odisha may produce Olympic standards of sport persons of either sex by increasing infrastructuresrelated to sports, making the Smart city as future Sport City.
Sri Pratap Jena, Hon’ble Minister, Panchayati Raj, & Drinking Water, Law, Housing and Urban Development, Govt. of Odisha has given his kind consent to grace the occasion as the Chief Guest and inaugurate the conference.
Sri Prem Chandra Chaudhury, I.A.S., Commissioner, Bhubaneswar Municipal Corporation, Vice-Chairman, BDA Bhubaneswar and C.E.O., Bhubaneswar Smart City Ltd., will attend as the Guest of Honour.
Prof. D.S.Meshram, President I.T.P.I., New-Delhi will address the gathering where Sri Pradeep Kapoor, Secretary General, I.T.P.I., New-Delhi will brief on the I.T.P.I. and the Zonal Conference.
There will be two Technical Sessions where Prof. Utpal Sharma, NIRMA University, Ahmedabad, Mr. Bankim Kalra, AICP – Director, Quantum Leap Studio, Bhubaneswar,Prof.Nikhil Ranjan Mandal, HOD Planning, School of Planning and Architecture, Bhopal, & Dr. Pitabasa Sahoo, Rajiv Gandhi National Institute of Youth Development, Tamil Nadu, will speak on “Transit Oriented Development”.
In Technical Session II, Prof. Emeritus (Dr.) J.K.Routray from AIT, Bangkok, Thiland, Dr.ShrawanKumar Acharya, Prof. JNU and Dr.Piyush Ranjan Rout Urban Planner, Bhubaneswar will present papers on “Future Sport City – Bhubaneswar” .
On concluding session Sri Prem Kumar Jha, I.F.S., Special Secretary to Govt. H & UD Department, Govt. Odisha will be the Chief Guest and deliver Valedictory address.

Comments are closed.