7-phase Lok Sabha elections conclude; Counting of votes on June 4

New Delhi: 7-phase Lok Sabha elections conclude; Counting of votes on June 4.

The General Elections for the 18th Lok Sabha have concluded, marking the end of the world’s largest electoral exercise. The final phase, Phase 7, saw a voter turnout of approximately 59.45% as of 8:45 PM. This phase covered 57 parliamentary constituencies.

Elections were also completed for the State Legislative Assemblies in Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Andhra Pradesh, and Odisha. The counting of votes for these assemblies will take place on June 2 for Arunachal Pradesh and Sikkim, and on June 4 for Andhra Pradesh and Odisha. The Lok Sabha votes will also be counted on June 4.

The Election Commission of India expressed profound gratitude to voters, polling personnel, law enforcement agencies, security forces, volunteers, Indian Railways, and the Airforce for their roles in ensuring the success of the elections.

Polling was smooth and peaceful across all seven phases. The Commission, led by Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar, ensured a secure and fair voting environment, with a significant reduction in the need for repolls.

There were notable voter turnouts in several challenging areas. Jammu and Kashmir saw its highest voter turnout in 35 years, with 58.58%, including a notable 51.05% in the Kashmir Valley. In Bastar, Chhattisgarh, voter turnout reached 68.29% without any incidents of violence.

Comments are closed.