Six more states selected for promoting pulses and oilseeds cultivation: Narendra Singh Tomar

The Union Minister for Rural Development, Panchayati Raj and Mines, Shri Narendra Singh Tomar holding a press conference on Mission Antyodaya, Gram Samridhi and Swachhata Pakhwada, in New Delhi on September 28, 2017. The Secretary, Ministry of Rural Development, Shri Amarjeet Sinha and the Principal Director General (M&C), Press Information Bureau, Shri A.P. Frank Noronha are also seen.

New Delhi: The Government is implementing the National Food Security Mission (NFSM) – Oilseeds and Oil Palm to increase production of oilseeds and domestic availability of edible oils.

The NFSM–(OS&OP) is under implementation in 29 States and has three subcomponents namely, Oilseeds, Oil palm and Tree Borne Oilseeds (TBOs). The main objective is to increase oilseeds production & productivity and area expansion under oil palm & TBOs cultivation. The oilseeds production which was 27.72 million tonnes in 2008-09 increased to 32.26 million tonnes in 2018-19 with productivity increase from 1006 to 1265 kg/ha. during this period. The edible oil production in the country which was 6.34 million tonnes in 2008-09 increased to 10.44 million tonnes in 2018-19. An area of 3.30 lakh ha has been covered under oil palm upto 2018-19.

More than 12 per cent of total cropped area in the country is used for cultivation of oilseeds. To reduce import dependency, besides NFSM (OS&OP), Government of India is promoting pulses and oilseeds cultivation in rice fallow areas of six eastern states (Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Jharkhand, Odisha and West Bengal) since 2016-17 and from 2019-20, six more states (Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu, Gujarat, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh) have been included to bring additional area and production of pulses and oilseeds.

This information was given in a written reply by the Union Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare Shri Narendra Singh Tomar in Lok Sabha today.

Comments are closed.