Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as new Chief Justice of India

New Delhi: Justice Dipak Misra sworn in as new Chief Justice of India. He was administered the oath of office by President Ram Nath Kovind.

He is the 45th Chief Justice of India, succeeding the 44th CJI, Justice J. S. Khehar.Chief Justice Misra will preside over the top court for 13 months and six days.

Justice Mishra is the third Odia to be appointed to this prestigious position after Justice Ranganath Mishra and Justice Gopal Ballav Pattanaik.Justice Dipak Misra was born on October 3, 1953.

He was enrolled as an Advocate on 14th February, 1977 and Practiced in Constitutional, Civil, Criminal, Revenue, Service and Sales Tax matters in the Orissa High Court and the Service Tribunal. He was appointed as an Additional Judge of the Orissa High Court on January 17, 1996 and transferred to the Madhya Pradesh High Court on March 3, 1997. He became permanent Judge on December 19, 1997. Justice Misra assumed charge of the office of Chief Justice, Patna High Court on December 23, 2009 and charge of the office of the Chief Justice of Delhi High Court on May 24, 2010. He was elevated as a Judge of Supreme Court on October 10, 2011.


Comments are closed.