Eight new ministers inducted into Mamata Banerjee’s cabinet

In West Bengal, eight new ministers were inducted into the state cabinet today. Minister of State Birbaha Hansda has been elevated to the rank of Minister of State with independent charge.

Governor La Ganesha administered the oath to the new ministers in the presence of Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee at Raj Bhavan this afternoon. Five new cabinet ministers took oath in the first phase. They are Babul Supriya, Snehashis Chakraborty, Udayan Guha, Partha Bhowmik, and Pradeep Majumdar.

After that, two independent ministers of state – Birbaha Hansda and Biplab Roy Chowdhury – took oath one by one. In the third phase, two ministers of state- Tajmul Hossain and Satyajit Burman – took the oath. Administrative sources indicated that the portfolios of the new ministers will be distributed today.

Earlier addressing the media, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee pointed out that several departments were currently functioning without any dedicated minister so a reshuffle was necessary.

Comments are closed.