20 States allowed additional borrowing of Rs 39,521 crore during 2020-21 for implementation of EoDB reform

New Delhi : The Union Government has fixed norms for implementation of Ease of Doing Business (EoDB) in the country to enable state-specific reforms. This was stated in a written reply by Union Minister of State for Finance Pankaj Chaudhary to a question in Lok Sabha today.

The Minister stated that in order to strengthen resources in the hands of State Governments in the wake of unprecedented COVID-19 pandemic, the Union Government addressed to all the States, laid out an additional borrowing of 0.25% for each reform of the Gross State Domestic Product (GSDP) to the States for FY 2020-21 subject to implementation of following specific state level reforms:

  1. Implementation of One Nation One Ration Card System;
  2. Ease of Doing Business reform;
  3. Urban Local body/ utility reforms and
  4. Power Sector reforms.


The Minister stated that twenty (20) states were allowed additional borrowing of Rs 39,521 crore during 2020-21 for implementation of EoDB reform and it is a continuous process and its outcome would be visible in due course. The list of States that have completely implemented the reform on EoDB are below: –


S. No. State /UT Status on Implementation of EoDB Reforms
1 Andhra Pradesh  











Fully Implemented.

2 Karnataka
3 Madhya Pradesh
4 Tamil Nadu
5 Telangana
6 Rajasthan
7 Kerala
8 Odisha
9 Himachal Pradesh
10 Haryana
11 Assam
12 Gujarat
13 Punjab
14 Arunachal Pradesh
15 Uttar Pradesh
16 Uttarakhand
17 Meghalaya
18 Chhattisgarh
19 Tripura
20 Goa



Comments are closed.