Union Minister #DharmendraPradhan to contest Rajya Sabha election from Madhya Pradhesh


Bhubaneswar: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Wednesday named Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan as the party’s nominee for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections from Madhya Pradesh (MP). Minister Pradhan hails from Odisha, was elected to Rajya Sabha from the state of Bihar in 2012. His tenure in the Upper House of the Parliament will end on April 2018.

Five Rajya Sabha members from the state of MP will complete their terms in April this year. They include Union ministers Prakash Javadekar, L Ganeshan, Thawarchand Gehlot and Meghraj Jain from BJP and Satyavrat Chaturvedi from Congress. The biennial elections will be held on March 23 to replace the 58 Rajya Sabha Members.