JMM leader Hemant Soren takes oath as 11th CM of Jharkhand

Ranchi: Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, JMM leader Hemant Soren took oath as the 11th Chief Minister of the state today. Governor Draupadi Murmu administered the oath of office to Mr Soren at Morhabadi grounds in Ranchi. This is 44 year Soren’ second stint as Jharkhand Chief Minister. After taking the oath, newly sworn in Chief Minister called for people’s support to frame a new structure of the state. Meanwhile, the first cabinet meeting of the new government was held at Chief Minister’s Secretariat in Ranchi.

Along with Soren, Congress Legislature Party Leader Alamgir Alam state Congress president Rameshwar Oraon and only MLA of RJD Satyanand Bhokta were also sworn in as state cabinet ministers.

Former Congress President Rahul Gandhi, Chief Minister of West Bengal Mamata Banerjee, Congress Chief Ministers Bhupesh Baghel, Ashok Gehlot, Former Assam CM Tarun Gogoi, ex-CM of Bihar Jitan Ram Manjhi, SP leader Akhilesh Yadav, RJD leader Tejaswi Yadav, Loktantrik Janata Dal leader Sharad Yadav, CPI Chief D Raja, CPI (M) leader Sitaram Yechuri, DMK Chief M K Stalin, MP M K Kanimozhi, AAP MP Sanjay Singh were among the leaders who witnessed the historic swearing-in ceremony of the Opposition-led government.

In the 81 member Assembly, JMM-Congress-RJD alliance has won 47 seats in the recently concluded Assembly elections. BJP has got 25 seats. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has congratulated Hemant Soren on taking oath as Jharkhand Chief Minister. In a tweet, Mr Modi assured all possible support from the Centre for Jharkhand’s growth.

Comments are closed.