Surjya Narayan Patro elected as Speaker of Odisha Assembly

Bhubaneswar: Senior BJD leader and the legislator from Digapahandi Assembly Constituency Surjya Narayan Patro has been elected as the Speaker of 16th Odisha Legislative Assembly here Saturday.

He was elected unanimously. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik proposed Patro’s name for the Speaker post, which was supported by the Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh and other members of the Assembly cutting across party lines. Later, the Pro-tem Speaker Amar Prasad Satpathy invited Patro to take the charge as the Speaker.