SGAT organized Mineral Development Awareness Programme – 2019

Joda : Mineral Development Awareness Programme (MDAP) — 2019 organised by Society of Geoscientists and Allied Technologists (SGAT) held on 23-25 August 2019 at Joda, Keonjhar district, Odisha.

Society of Geoscientists and Allied Technologists (SGAT) is a non-profit making registered body of professionals from India and abroad representing disciplines of Geoscience, Mining, Metallurgical, Mineral and Environment Engineering dedicated for promotion of Mineral Development in the country. The Society has now over 859 life members.

As a part of its developmental programme, SGAT has been organising Mineral Development Awareness Programme (MDAP) for the last 29 years on annual basis. The objective of this programme is to update the students pursuing PG course in Geoscience, Degree Courses in mining, metallurgical, mineral and environment engineering about the latest developments in the respective disciplines. The activities under this programme included: (a) Visits to mines, haulage, loading and unloading systems, processing and metallurgical plants, nursery, plantation, environment protection measures, water harvesting structure among others. (b) Identification of specimen of rocks, ores, minerals and metallurgical products, photographs. (c) Interpretation of satellite imageries (d) Oral quiz

The institutions who participated in the programme include Indian School of Mines, Dhanbad, IIT, Kharagpur, Bhubaneswar & Jamshedpur, IIEST, Shibpur, NITs of Rourkela & Raipur, Government College of Engineering, Keonjhar, Jadavpur, Presidency, Utkal , Sambalpur and Ravenshaw Universities, AKS University, Satna, University College of Engineering, Kothagudam (Telengana), Khallikote Auto College, IGIT, Sarang and DD Auto College, Keonjhar. In all 25 teams participated with two students each. The programme is unique being the only one of its kind in the country. IIT, Bhubaneswar emerged as the overall winner in the competitions and its representatives Ms. Lynneta Dias and Mr. Pritam Sharma were awarded.

This year’s programme was sponsored by Tata Steel and collaborated by the Department of Steel & Mines, Govt. of Odisha. Support was extended by Rungta Mines, Essel Mining and Industries and Tata Sponge Iron Ltd. The Concluding Session was graced by the presence of Mr. Sanjay Patnaik, Managing Director, Tata Sponge Iron Limited, Mr Atul Bhattnagar, GM (OMQ), Tata Steel, Mr Rajesh Kumar, Chief (Joda), Tata Steel, Mr. P K Panda, Senior President, Essel Mining and Industries Limited, Prof. B.C. Sarkar of ISM, Dhanbad; Mr. Hirak Majumdar, Rungta Mines Limited, Mr. LD Nayak, Deputy Director of Mines, Joda Mining circle among others. Others present include Mr. Sanjay K Bhuyan of Tata Steel, Mr. Sujoy K Bose of Rungta Mines Limited, Mr Nihar Das Patnaik of EMIL. SGAT was represented by Mr. A B Panigrahi, General Secretary, Mr.Trilochan Mohanta, Joint Secretary, Mr. Sujit K Mohanty and Mr.N R Patnaik, Executive Members. Mr.B.K.Mohanty, Former, Director (Mining & Geology) and Advisor SGAT conducted the program.

Comments are closed.