Satya Pal Malik takes oath as new Governor of #Odisha


Bhubaneswar:  Satya Pal Malik becomes the Governor of Odisha. President of India appointed Satya Pal Malik, Governor of Bihar to discharge the function of Odisha. Chief Justice of Orissa High Court Shri Justice Vineet Saran administered oath of office to him in a brief swearing ceremony held at Abhishek Hall of Raj Bhavan at 6 P.M. today. After Chief Secretary Shri Aditya Prasad Padhi read out the Warrant of Appointment, the proceedings began. The ceremony ended with the permission of Governor.

Chief Minister Shri Naveen Patnaik along with members of Council of Ministers and Leader of Opposition in Odisha Legislative Assembly were present on the occasion. Secretaries of different Departments, Principal Secretary to Governor, DG of Police, Commissioner of Police and other senior officials of state administration were also present during the swearing-in-ceremony. Earlier, Governor designate was given warm welcome on his arrival at Biju Patnaik International Airport today afternoon. Later he was given guard of honour in Raj Bhavan. Shri Malik succeeds Dr. S.C. Jamir as Governor of Odisha.

Earlier, he was the member of the 9th Lok Sabha and represented Aligarh Constituency from 1989 to 1991. He was member of Rajya sabha from Uttar Pradesh during two term of 1980-86 and 1986-1992. He was also member of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly during 1974-77. He was born to a modest farmer family in a village- Hisawada (near Aminagar Sarai), District- Baghpat (Meerut, before 1997), Uttar Pradesh.

He pursued his L. L. B before joining politics. He had been a Member of Parliament from Aligarh in 1989 on ticket of Janata Dal. He got 2,33,465 (51.5 percent) votes out of total valid votes. Thus defeated sitting MP and rival INC candidate Usha Rani Tomar by a margin of 77,958 votes, who got 1,55,507 (34.2 percent) votes. He again contested from Aligarh in 1996 on Samajwadi Party ticket, but could manage only 4th place and secured only 40,789 votes. He is an alumnus of Meerut College. He is in charge of Governor of Odisha from 21st March 2018.