Panther CrickFest 2017: Team Josh Lifts 2017 Trophy


Angul: CricFest 2017, a mega cricket tournament organised by Jindal Steel & Power Ltd (JSPL) at Jindal Sports Arena, Jindal Nagar has been concluded on December 13, 2017 evening. Josh Team comprising players from CGP, RMHS, Logistics & Washery won the Champion’s Trophy by defeating Extreme Team comprising players from SMS & BOF, DRI,LDP & Oxygen plants by 7 wickets, in an exciting final match. Executive Director (I/c) and Location Head of JSPL’s Angul unit Mr. Dinesh Kumar Saraogi, graced the final match of the tournament as Chief-Guest and presented the trophies in presence of Mr. Damodar Mittal (EVP & Head Iron Making & General Secretary JOC), Mr. A. N. Tiwari (EVP- CGP), Mr. Arvind Kumar (EVP- F&A), Mr. Samar Suri (EVP-Blast Furnace) and various other HoDs of different departments, employees and spectators from the township and local villages.

Chasing a target of 105 runs in 10 overs to win the Panther CrickFest title, Josh achieved the target in the last ball of the match. The striker of winning shot Dharmendra Singh of Josh made an unbeaten 72 runs in 38 balls and declared Man-of-the-Match while Md. Saddam Hussain of CGP awarded with Man-of-the-Tournament.

Distributing the trophies, Mr. Dinesh Kumar Saraogi, applaud the effort of Jindal Officer’s Club and its members for organizing such kind of inter-departmental tournaments for the employees.

This Six-day long cricket tournament played under flood-light was organised by the Jindal Officer’s Club (JOC) of JSPL. All the departments of JSPL participated with their best players in this Cricket Extravaganza which was inaugurated on 8th Dec, 2016. Total 17 matches were played excluding the mega final. The tournament was successfully managed by JOC Sports Secretary Capt. Ajit Singh, Mr. M. Amit Kumar and their team.