Odisha posts 25% revenue growth from own tax sources during 2017-18


Bhubaneswar: Revenue collection of the State from own tax sources during 2017-18 has grown by 25.51% over the last fiscal of 2016-17. This was known from a high level meeting held under the Chairmanship of Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi in secretariat conference hall today. The meeting deliberated over collection of revenue from different sources during the year 2017-18 and fixation of target for the current year. Reviewing the trend of revenue collection, Chief Secretary Sri Padhi directed the departments to focus on collection of arrear revenue on different establishments. The departments were further advised to make ‘case to case analysis’ of the long pending cases and finalize those on the basis of one time settlement.
Principal Secretary Finance Sri Tuhin Kanta Pandey appraised that the total revenue collection from own tax sources reached Rs. 28682.56 cr during the year 2017-18 thereby recording a growth of 25.51% over the last year. The major sources of own tax includes the professional tax, land revenue, stamp & registration fees, state excise, commercial taxes including GST share, vehicle taxes and electricity duties.
Further, Principal Secretary Sri Pandey apprised that the revenue collection from non-tax sources during the same fiscal has also reached Rs 8047 cr. The major sources of non-tax revenue include mining royalty, industrial water rate, irrigation water rate, interest and dividend from various sources and other departmental receipts.
The overall tax generation from both the tax and non-tax sources has shown a growth of around 19% with a total collection of Rs.36729.51 during 2017-18. Deliberating over various revenue prospects of the State for the current fiscal year, Chief Secretary Sri Padhi directed to scale up the total revenue generation by 10% over the 2016-17. The departments were asked to work out their revenue generation road map accordingly.
Deputy Secretary Finance Sri Satya Ratha while presenting the updates said, “ presently about 92% of the states’ own revenue is being received electronically”. Electronic mode of payment has been rolled out in commercial tax, mining revenue, excise duty, electricity duty & inspection fees, motor vehicle tax, stamp & registration fees, land revenue, industrial water rate, forest royalty and GO-SWIFT Single Window Portal. This has saved the tax payers from running to offices for payment of tax. It has also led to easy monitoring of revenue flow, detection of default and creation of an electronic revenue data base with less paper work.
Additional Chief Secretary Forest & Environment Sri Suresh Chandra Mohapatra, Principal Secretary Steel & Mines Sri Raj Kumar Sharma, Principal Secretary General Administration Sri Ashok Meena, Principal Secretary Commerce & Transport Sri G. Srinivas, Principal Secretary Revenue & Disaster Management Dr Chandra Sekhar Kumar, Secretary Energy Sri Hemant Sharma, Secretary Excise Sri Nikunja Bihari Dhal, Transport Commissioner Sri Madhusudan Padhi, Commissioner Commercial Tax Sri Saswat Mishra along with senior officers from respective departments participated in the deliberations.