Odisha Govt to open three new Cyber Police Stations to tackle cyber crime

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Government decided to open three new Cyber Police Stations to tackle cyber crime in the state. CM Naveen Patnaik approved opening of the police stations at Rourkela, Berhampur and Sambalpur. The police stations will be in addition to the cyber police station under CID crime Branch Cuttack.

With rapid growth of technology and the fast shift towards digital economy the facets of crime are changing. Cyber crime has emerged a major threat to law and order, peace and harmony in the society. Incidents of hacking, internet and mobile frauds and financial crimes, cyber-terrorism can jeopardise normal life. It can have more serious consequences than conventional crime. Thus, we have to be proactive in taking measures for prevention and control of cyber crime.

The police stations will have officers and staff who have received advanced training in cyber crime. They will have all capabilities to apprehend, prevent, investigate and control cyber crime.

However, while the hi-tech establishments will play a frontal role in combating cyber crime, it is the aware and informed citizens that can save themselves from falling prey to such incidents. We have to sensitise people on the various aspects cyber crime and transform them into alert, agile partners in our efforts to effectively stonewall the growing menace of cyber crime.

Comments are closed.