Odisha Cabinet approves 6 proposals including financial restructuring plan for OSRTC,establishment of Odisha Maritime Board

Bhubaneswar: Odisha Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today approved six key proposals including the establishment of Odisha Maritime Board, financial restructuring plan for OSRTC.

“Odisha Maritime Board shall be constituted with 12 members. Chief Secretary will be the chairperson along with representatives of stakeholder departments as well as representatives of Government of India,” Odisha Chief Secretary Aditya Prasad Padhi said while briefing the media persons soon after the significant meeting.

Padhi said, “The Board will function as the single window facilitator for the overall maritime development of the State. It will provide policy, guidelines and directions for the integrated development of ports and inland water transport keeping in view of the country’s security and defence-related concerns. It will take up the survey and techno-economic feasibility studies so as to facilitate private sector investment for the development of ports and port-based industries.”

According to a press note, “A statutory body named ‘Odisha Maritime Board’ is to be established in the State for administration, control and management of non-major ports and non-nationalised inland waterways. Earlier a Bill was passed in the year 2011 for the constitution of Board but that was withdrawn because of some more issues were to be added.”

Besides, Odisha CS-Designate Asit Kumar Tripathy said, “The Cabinet has approved the proposal for implementing in the first phase certain recommendations of Justice B.P. Das Commission as contained in its first interim report which relate to the safety and security and improvement of Shri Jagannath Temple at Puri.”
The State Cabinet has also approved an amendment to the existing provision of Rule-6(4) of Odisha Police Service (Method of Recruitment and Condition of Service) Rule 2013 aimed to eliminate the constraints therein and facilitate to get eligible OPS officers for filling up the posts of Superior Administrative Grade in OPS cadre for efficient and smooth people administration.

The Odisha Cabinet further approved the proposal for Gopabandhu Science College, Athagarh, established in 1963 and is a fully aided college. It has no building and land of its own and has been running in the palace building located over Ac 11.56 dec. of land belonging to erstwhile Athagarh royal family since 1978. In the greater public interest, the Government has remitted stamp duty and registration fees on Gift deed of land measuring ac 11.56 dec. along with building standing on it in Mouza-Birakishorepur of Cuttack district to be executed in favour of Gopabandhu Science College, Athagarh.

Comments are closed.