Odisha BJP leaders review party’s performance in 2019 polls

Bhubaneswar: A high-level meeting of district presidents & office bearers underway at BJP State heaquarters in  Bhubaneswar to review party’s performance in 2019 polls; Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan,  Odisha in-charge Arun Singh, BJP national Vice President Jay Panda and others present

Many senior leaders of the party attended the meeting and tried to find out the reasons behind the party’s defeat. They also held discussions on the upcoming elections to be held for the Patkura and Bijepur Assembly seats.

The leaders slammed the State Government for its “failure” in undertaking restoration works in the Cyclone Fani-affected areas and the Patnagarh BJD MLA’s misbehaviour to a Government officer.

Addressing a Press conference, BJP State general secretary Prithviraj Harinchandan said the State BJP thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party national president Amit Shah for the massive win of 303 Lok Sabha seats and forming the Government at the Centre for a second consecutive time.

Besides, the leaders also thanked Modi for inducting two leaders from Odisha, Dharmendra Pradhan and MP Pratap Chandra Saragi, in his Ministry. “The State BJP thanked the people of Odisha for supporting the BJP and sending eight MPs to the Lok Sabha and 23 MLAs to the State Assembly. As many as 91 lakh voters supported the BJP in the general elections,” Harichandan said.

He said the party would work as a Chowkidar to protect the interest of the people of the State in coming days. The meeting held under chairmanship of party State president Basant Panda was attended by all State functionaries and district presidents. Among senior leaders, Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, national vice-president Baijayant Panda, national general secretary and Odisha-in-charge Arun Singh and senior leaders Bishwabhushan Harichandan, Giridhar Gamang, Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo and Manmohan Samal were present.