Odisha: BJD nominee Pratap Deb submits nominations for Rajya Sabha poll

Bhubaneswar: BJD nominee Pratap Deb submits nominations to returning officer and Odisha Assembly Secretary in presence of the CM Naveen Patnaik, party leaders and Ministers. Parliamentary Affairs Minister Bikram Arukh, Finance Minister Shasi Bhusan Behera, Higher Education Minister Ananta Das and others were presented during nomination.

On the other hand BJD moves motion of notice before Assembly secretary to elect Pradeep Amat as Speaker of Odisha Assembly. CM, senior leaders present .

The lone seat of Upper House from Odisha was lying vacant after Bishnu Charan Das resigned as the Member of Rajya Sabha on 21 March this year. Mr.Das term of office would have ended on July 1, 2022.
Mr.Deb, presently BJD Spokesperson and Chairman of the Odisha State Housing Board, had lost the Assembly elections in 2014 from Aul segment. He will file nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha elections by May 15.