Nipania Boat Tragedy incident;Two savior girls to receive ICCW National bravery awards 2019

Report by Kahnu Nanda; Jagatsinghpur: Two Kendrapada girls have been selected receiving the Indian council of child welfare [ICCF] National bravery award 2019 on the eve of Republic Day this year.
The savior girls have been identified as Purnima Giri and Sabita Giri from Batighar Panchayat under Kendrapada district, both had showed risky step saving 12 persons from a drowning boat in river Mahanadi.
Notable to say on 01 January 2019 about 55 people from 14 families from Hasina village under Kujanga block had gone to Hokitola Isle across River Mahanadi for observing New Year picnic. While returning home the ill-fated country boat Maa Mangala had capsized at Nipania under Batighar Panchayat in Kendrapada district.
The picnickers began to drown and shouted for help, hearing the screams for the help Purnima and Sabita from rive side Batighar village came out their house and jumped in to river and rescued the lives of 12 persons from sinking. In this boat tragedy 9 people from Hasina village and 1 person from Gandikipur village had reportedly died, few others saved themselves by swimming, 9 others had critically injured later recovered after treatment.
Both Kendrapada and Jagatsinghpur districts administration had praised benevolent services of two teen aged girls who saved 12 persons from the clutches of death and had felicitated in several platforms, Kendrapada child protection unit had recommended both names for obtaining ICCW National bravery award 2019.
Baldev Jew youth association of Hasina village with support of Mangarajpur Sarpanch Purnima Tripathy organized a remembrance celebration and installation of a memorial pillar on the eve of 1st anniversary of this boat tragedy on 1 January 2020. .
Political leaders cutting party affiliations as state water resources and I&PR minister Raghunandan Das, MP Dr Rajashree Mallick, Paradip legislator Sambit Routray, former MP Dr Kulamani Samal ,BJP leader Ex MP Bibhuprasad Tarai, Sampad Swain, Congress leader Bapi Sarkhel accompanying spiritual Guru Baba Balia had participated in launching of memorial pillar. The attending guests and villagers including boat tragedy survivors too had remembered both girls Purnima and Sabita who had saved 12 persons from the boat tragedy.
After knowing both girls have been selected for the ICCW national bravery award 2019 villagers were jubilant and have expressed happiness.
The National bravery Award scheme was instituted by the ICCW in 1957 to give due recognition to the children who distinguish themselves by performing outstanding deeds of bravery and meritorious service and to inspire other children to emulate their example. The award is given by honble president of India at Rastrapati Bhawan on the eve of Republic Day every year, the awardees receive a medal, certificate and cash.
This year also another Odisha’s Srimati Badra [10] has been selected for the ICCW Prahalad Award for helping her friend who lost her right leg in a train accident.

Comments are closed.