NDA’s Presidential candidate #DraupadiMurmu is leading with 540 of the 748 votes of the MPs

New Delhi: After first round of counting, NDA candidate  Droupadi Murmu got votes of 540 MPs with the value of 3 lakh 78 thousand. Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha secured the vote of 208 MPs with value of 1,45,600 says Secretary General of Rajya Sabha PC Mody.

Counting of votes for the Presidential election has started at Parliament House. First the MP’s votes will be counted and then the votes of State Assemblies. Earlier, ballots polled at Parliament House and States Assemblies were segregated by the poll officials for this purpose.

Polling for the Presidential Election was held at Parliament House and State Assemblies across the country on 18th of this month.

Former Jharkhand Governor Droupadi Murmu is the NDA candidate for the Presidential Election. Former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha is the Opposition candidate for the country’s top post.

Over 99 per cent electors’ turnout was recorded in the Presidential Election. Hundred per cent voting by MLAs was reported from 11 States and Union Territory of Puducherry. The States are Chattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Sikkim and Tamil Nadu. The term of the incumbent President Ram Nath Kovind will end on 24th of this month.


Comments are closed.