“Ensure Safety to Ensure Productivity” – Sunil Duggal, CEO, Hindustan Zinc

Udaipur: Hindustan Zinc, a Vedanta Group Company in Zinc, Lead & Silver business has always emphasised on the safety of its people first. Safety is not just compliance or a fear or adherence; it is more to be understood as a practice and as a philosophy for the company.
Every quarter Safety Town halls are being conducted at Hindustan Zinc to emphasize on the on-job and off –job safety
A safety town hall was also organised at Chanderiya Smelting Complex of Hindustan Zinc on 25th May, 2017 and was graced by the presence of Mr. Sunil Duggal – CEO, Hindustan Zinc.
CEO interacted with the employees and their families present in the town hall and emphasised that safety outside premises is as necessary as on-job safety. He appreciated the efforts taken by the Chanderiya team towards safety and insisted on making safety a practice in our day to day life. CEO also stressed on the fact that in Hindustan Zinc there is Zero Tolerance regarding safety in workplace.
CEO – HZL emphasized on the message of “Being Safe” and advised employees to embed safety in their daily lives and that we all should become self-safety-auditors. There should be no laxity on importance of safety at work-place or at home or when an employee is travelling.

Hindustan Zinc has seen a positive change in the last 5 years with respect to safety.

On this occasion, CEO and other senior management awarded top seven employees who have shown Zero Tolerance in safety at their workplace.
Hindustan Zinc also organises “Being Safe” programs in each location to create awareness regarding safety among employees, their families and school children. These interactions help people to understand that how important it is to be safe, not just for themselves but most importantly for their families.
Also present in the Town hall were Mr. Naveen Singhal – Director, Projects, Mr. Laxman Shekhawat- COO, Mines, Mr. Pankaj Kumar – COO, Smelters, Mr. V Jayaraman – Head, HSE, and Mr. Rajesh Kundu – Site President, Chanderiya IBU.

Comments are closed.