Eastern India’s biggest media fest to take off on Nov 21

Bhubaneswar: The stage is set for the third edition of National Media Conclave (NMC), Eastern India’s biggest and most stimulating platform. The three-day conclave that has established itself as the most awaited and celebrated event in the media academic realm will kick off on November 21 at KIIT Auditorium here to mark the birth anniversary of former Chief Minister of Odisha Dr Harekrushna Mahatab and remember his journalistic works.

As has been its speciality, the ‘Media Mahakumbh’ this year too will present an electrifying conglomeration of the country’s top academicians, policy makers, media luminaries and communication experts to debate on the theme ‘Communication 4.0: Communication in a digital age’. The mega scholastic meet will highlight the core issues relating to human communication and technological advancement and its impact on language, knowledge and society at large, said conclave Chairman and Director of IMS Prof. Upendra Padhi during a press meet here on Sunday.

The conclave being organised by Institute of Media Studies (IMS) and Utkal University in association with the Consortium for Educational Communication (CEC) of UGC, will be inaugurated by Central Information Commissioner Bimal Julka. Director of CEC Prof. Jagat Bhushan Nadda, Lok Sabha MP and Editor of Prajatantra Bhartruhari Mahtab, Director of Dr. Amebedkar Foundation Debendra Prasad Majhi, Vice-Chancellor of Utkal University Prof. Soumendra Mohan Patnaik, Professor of Eminence in Tezpur University Prof. Sunilkanta Behera and Director of Institute of Knowledge Society, Centurion University Dr. Chandrabhanu Patnaik will join the inaugural ceremony. While Vice-Chancellor of MGM University Prof. (Dr.) Sudhir Gavhane will be the keynote speaker of the ceremony, Pro Vice Chancellor of Adamas University Prof. Ujjwal K. Choudhury will make a theme presentation.

The inaugural day’s schedule includes three plenary sessions on different issues on digital communication. Former Director of IIMC and founder Chairman of International Media Institute (IMI), Gurgaon Prof. (Dr) J. S. Yadav, former heads of political science in Utkal University Prof. Surya Narayan Mishra and Prof. Amareswar Mishra, former Principal Director General, Press Information Bureau (PIB) Dr. Umakant Mishra, Professor and Head of Journalism and Communication department in University of Madras Dr. Gopalan Ravindran and political newscaster and journalist of Times Network Sahar Zaman will have a debate on ‘Social Media and Digital Democracy: Challenges Ahead’ in the first plenary session.

The second panel discussion will witness Director of Centre for Culture, Media and Governance in Jamia Millia Islamia University Prof. Biswajit Das, former VC of Central University of Tamil Nadu and former Pro VC of University of Hyderabad Prof. B.P. Sanjay, Professor of Department of Culture and Media Studies, Central University of Rajasthan, Prof. Subhas Dhuliya, Dr. Yadav, visiting Professor of ISID and former Programme Director of IIMC Prof. Jaishri Jethwaney, and Professor and Dean of School of Communication, GD Goenka University, Haryana Dr. Debashis Chakrabarti who will speak on ‘Media Pluralism in the Digital Era’.

Similarly, former Chief Information Commissioner of Bangladesh Dr. Md. Golam Rahman, Prof. Choudhury, Professor of University of Burdwan Dr. Saswati Gangopadhyay, head of New Media and Information Technology and Course Director of Advertising and PR at IIMC Prof (Dr) Anubhuti Yadav, former Professor Anna University, Chennai Dr. I. Arul Aram and former Executive Producer of Lok Sabha TV and founder of digital channel Hunar TV Dhiraj Singh will deliberate on ‘Fake News and Fake Journalism’.

The second day will see two panel discussions along with six parallel technical sessions where more than 80 academicians and scholars will read out their research papers. Prof. Sanjay, Dr. Gavhane, Emeritus Professor of Apeejay Institute of Mass Communication and former Director General of IIMC K G Suresh, Professor of Film Studies and Director of School of Media, Communication and Culture in Jadavpur University Dr. Abhijit Roy, and former Deputy Director of CSIR Dr. Pradeep K. Srivastava will address the fourth plenary session on ‘New Media Technologies and Children as Prosumers’.

The next session on ‘Communication for Development in the Digital Age’ will be participated by Dr Patnaik, Prof. Biswajit Das, Professor of University of Mysore Dr. N. Usha Rani, Head of DJMC in Banaras Hindu University Prof. Sisir Basu, Professor of Central University of South Bihar Dr. Manoj Dayal, Professor of Osmania University Dr. K Narender, and Professor and CEO of RICE Education & Adamas Group Prof. Mrityunjoy Chatterjee.

The closing day will have two plenary sessions followed by the valedictory ceremony where certificates will be distributed among the scholars. Dr Behera of Tezpur University will hold a masterclass on ‘Cyber Communication and Security: Issues and Challenges’ with experts like Director of Apeejay Institute of Mass Communication Prof. Sajal Mukherjee, Professor of Periyar University, Salem Dr. V Natarajan, Assistant Professor in Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University Dr. Durgesh Tripathi, Prof. Siba K Udgata of School of Computer and Information Sciences in University of Hyderabad, Associate Professor of Central University of Jharkhand Dr. Dev Vrat Singh and Principal Correspondent of Doordarshan Snehasis Sur.

His session would be followed by a discussion on ‘Culture in Transition: The Emerging Digital Culture’ between academicians Regional Manager of Oxfam India, Odisha Akshaya Kumar Biswal, Journalist and Writer Kalpana Sharma, Executive Editor of Newslaundry Manisha Pande and Odisha BBC journalist Sandeep Sahu.

The conclave will customarily conclude with Speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly Dr Surjya Narayan Patro taking the stage to speak on rising of media from the east. Vice-Chancellor of Berhampur University Prof. Govind Joseph Chakrapani, Registrar of Birla Global University Dr. B. K. Dash and editor of Outlook Ruben Banerjee will join the closing ceremony.

While more than 800 delegates across the country will participate in the biggest media conclave in the eastern part of India, around 300 research scholars from 40 universities will join the event. Odisha’s rich traditional and cultural heritage will be showcased in cultural evenings where folk dances will be performed by renowned troupes of the State. “This year, we will present NMC Awards in 30 segments to acknowledge the contributions of corporates, educational institutions and social sector organsiations to the society during the closing ceremony,” Prof. Padhi said.

Among other, Director of Institute of Knowledge Society (IKS) Dr. Chandrabhanu pattnayak, Dr. Gyanranjan Mishra of Birla Global University, Dr. Jayanta Swain of Ravenshaw University, Dr. Ambika Prasad Mishra of Centurion University also present in the meeting.

Comments are closed.