CM Naveen Patnaik urges PM to declare two new railway divisions for Odisha

Bhubaneswar: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik writes letter to PM Narendra Modi expressing his shock over carving out of East Coast Railway’s Waltier Division to set up South Coast Railway zone. CM Naveen Patnaik also demands for the declaration of two new railway divisions for Odisha, one each at Rourkela and Jajpur.

“I have been writing to successive Ministers of Railways of the then UPA II Government and the present NDA Government regarding our demand for re-organisation of Railways in Odisha with three new Divisions,” Patnaik said in a letter to PM Modi.

The CM said he came to know from media reports that Railways Minister Piyush Goyal has announced the setting up of a new South Coast Railway (SCoR) zone which will be formed by carving out part of the East Coast Railway’s Waltier Division. He said it has come as a rude shock to Odisha people.

He said presently about 70% of Odisha is under the jurisdiction of the East Cost Railway (ECoR) with its headquarters at Bhubaneswar. Odisha has the maximum resources of almost all major minerals like coal, iron ore, bauxite and manganese ore. “With our thrust on industrialisation and Make in Odisha, we have been able to add value to these minerals within the State,” he added

Comments are closed.