Bureau of Indian Standards published 21,890 standards for products, process specification, service sectors, code of practice and methods of test terminology

The Union Minister of State for Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution, Shri Ashwini Kumar Choubey in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today informed that Bureau of Indian Standards (BIS), the National Standards Body of India, formulates Indian Standards in various sectors. Through its standards, BIS ensures quality consciousness amongst manufacturers, industry, consumers & various government departments. These standards benefit industry of any size and across all sectors by ensuring efficiency in processes and quality of products/services, help in adoption of new technologies, build productivity, reduce costs and enable access to markets. The standards also provide a range of other benefits including facilitating trade, providing investment confidence, fostering innovation and supporting government policies and regulations. These National Standards are developed with the objective of harmonious development of the activities of standardisation, and quality assurance of goods and articles. Till date, 21,890 Standards for products, process specification, service sectors, code of practice, methods of test terminology have been published by the BIS.

As a policy, while developing any Indian Standard, BIS technical committees consider the availability of an International Standard (International Organization for Standardization (ISO)/International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) on the subject. The committees try to align the standard with the International standards to the extent possible At times, ISO/IEC standards are not adopted in totality by the concerned technical committee taking into account the country specific concerns on health, safety, environment, national security and prevention of deceptive practices. At present, 87% of the Indian standards are harmonized with ISO/IEC standards for which the International Standards exists.

Government of India has identified twelve Champion Services Sectors (CSS) in the Indian National Strategy for Standardization (INSS) for focused attention so as to realize their full potential. These Champion Services Sectors include:

  1. Information technology and information Technology Enabled Services (IT & ITeS)
  2.  Medical Value Travel Services
  3. Transport and Logistics Services
  4. Tourism and Hospitality Services
  5. Accounting and Finance Services
  6. Audio Visual Services
  7. Communication Services
  8. Legal Services
  9. Construction and Related Engineering Services
  10. Environmental Services
  11. Financial Services and
  12. Education Services

Considering this and to give due importance to the services sectors, the Standards Advisory Committee(SAC) of Bureau of Indian Standards created the Services Sector Division Council in the field of services sectors. The Division Council is functional since 2020. The new standards formulated under the different service sector is given at Annexure.

The Central Government has also notified several products mandating BIS Standards in view considerations like human health/ safety, protection of environment, public interest etc. During the last 03 years, 197 products have been notified by the Central Government for compulsory BIS certification.



Champion Service Sector Sectional Committee Constituted by SSDC No.   of Indian Standards Published (As on 01.12.2022)
Transport and Logistics Services SSD 01,Transport and Logistics Services

SSD 18,Supply Chain Management

Tourism and Hospitality Services SSD 2, Travel, Tourism & Hospitality Services 21
Medical Value Travel SSD 16, Medical Value Travel Services and Wellness Services 03
SSD 5, Health, Sports & Fitness Services 03
Financial Services SSD 03, Banking and Financial Services 57
Education Services SSD 4, Higher Educational, Skill Development and related Services SSD 15,School Education and related Services 06
Media and Entertainment Services SSD 13 ,Media and Entertainment Services 03
Construction & related Engineering Services SSD 6, Construction & related Engineering Services
Environmental Services SSD 7, Environmental Services


SSD 14, Drinking Water Supply


Services SSD 20 ,Biodiversity



Communication Services SSD 8,Communication Services
Legal Services SSD 17,Legal Services

SSD 9, Business Services

 It & it Enabled Services SSD 10,IT&IT Enabled Services 13
SSD 11,Retail,E-commerce&E-payments
Accounting& Finance Services SSD 12, Accounting & Finance 01
SSD 19, Basic Standards on Services Sectional Committee

(To formulate horizontal standards on services)

Total 132

Comments are closed.