Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy: Indian Men’s & Women’s Teams all set! Four girls from Odisha selected to play the tournament

Bhubaneswar: Rugby India today announced the 12-member squads for the Indian Men’s & Women’s Rugby teams who will represent India at the Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy which will be held at the G.B.K Sports complex in Jakarta, Indonesia on Saturday 10th August & Sunday 11th August, 2019. This tournament will serve as the platform for qualification for the Asia Rugby Sevens Series.

Both squads were part of a 15-day Indian National Training camp which was held at the Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology (KIIT). The camps were fully supported by the Sport and Youth Services Department, Government of Odisha as well as KIIT and KISS. The players shortlisted to join the camp were selected during the Societe Generale Senior National Rugby Sevens Championship which was held in Patna last month.

The Indian teams led by skippers Vikas Khatri (Men’s) and Vahbiz Barucha (Women’s) are set to depart for the tournament on 7th August.

Commending the athletes, Hon’ble Minister for Sports and Youth Services, Mr. Tusharkanti Behera said, “We have created an ecosystem where we support athletes across several sports disciplines, including Ruby, to achieve their full potential and it gives us immense pleasure today to see these young kids represent our country at the Asian Rugby Sevens Trophy. The zeal of these young and dynamic players is unflinching and with continued practice and team spirit, we are confident, they will achieve great success in their upcoming tournament. Congratulations and best wishes to each one of them. “


Extending his best wishes for the upcoming championship, Commissioner-cum-Secretary, Sports and Youth Services, Government of Odisha, Mr. Vishal K Dev, said, “I congratulate both the men’s and women’s team on their selection. The popularity and visibility of Rugby is growing due to the consistent and strong performance of the players and we are happy to be supporting them. We are confident they will outshine their competitions and bring laurels to the country.”

Speaking on the team composition, Coach Ludwuiche Van Deventer, said, “I am extremely proud of the players and the level of commitment they have shown in the lead up to the tournament. I am confident in the team’s abilities and positive that they will make India proud with their performance at the Asian Championships in Jakarta. I urge all Indians to show their love and support for Team India”

Commenting on the occasion, Mr. Rahul Bose, Former India Rugby player, Actor & Film Maker said, “I am terrifically grateful to the Sport and Youth Services department, Government of Odisha, for supporting Rugby. They have been one of the most proactive, diligent and excellence-focused state sports departments in the country. My thanks to them too for fulfilling the commitments they made in the past year during the Rugby World Cup trophy tour. India Rugby’s partnership with them was really celebrated when Odisha hosted the Asian Rugby U18 Girls Rugby Championship last year (a first ever for India) and now continues to support High Performance training camps for our Indian National Rugby teams at the amazing KIIT facilities here in Bhubaneswar. My best wishes to the Indian men and women rugby teams for the Asian Sevens Trophy.”

Further he added, “I fully endorse the Honourable Chief Minister, Shri Naveen Patnaik’s, vision statement, ‘sport for youth, youth for future’. Odisha boasts a luminous legacy of sporting achievement and the state has proved that they have world-class sports infrastructure by successfully hosting International and National tournaments. Odisha has already made its mark on the world map and the state has become a much sought after sports hub in the country. I will be honored to stay associated with Odisha and hope to contribute to its excellent sports ecosystem – something that is already benefiting not just this region but the country as a whole.’”

The following 12 players per team are selected from across India to represent the nation at the Asia Rugby Sevens Trophy in Jakarta, Indonesia.


Comments are closed.