7th Foundation Day and One Day Workshop on elephant conservation organized by Save Elephant Foundation Trust


Bhubaneswar: Save Elephant Foundation Trust has organized one day workshop on elephant conservation on the occasion of its 7th foundation day. Shri Bikram Keshari Arukh, Hon’ble Minister, Forest 7 Environment Department inaugurated the workshop as Chief Guest. Dr Debabrata Swain, Founder of Trust presided the meeting. Among others, Dr Raman Sukumar, Professor, Centre for Ecological Sciences, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore address the foundation day lecture. Dr Hari Sankar Upadhay, PCCF(Wildlife) & Chief Wildlife Warden, Shri Saroj Kumar Patnaik, principal advisor of trust, Dr Bijay Ketan Patnaik, advisor of trust, Dr SN Patro, president of Orissa Environmental Society joined as guests of honour. Two books named ‘Hati Amar Sathi’ & Elephant movement and its impact’ and annual report of trust were released by guests on this occasion. Five frontline field staff named Maguni Behera, Deputy Ranger, Khuntuni Range, Dayanidhi Sahu, Deputy Ranger, Naktideul Range, Kedar Patra, Forester, Puspanjali Panda, Forest Guard, Abinash Senapati, Forest Guard were awarded for exemplary work of elephant conservation. Dr Rajnikanta Jena, Chairman of Trust gave welcome address while Dr Prakash Jena, Trustee gave vote of thanks. Shri Jitasatru Mohanty, Trustee, gave key note address while Miss Medha Nayak coordinated the event.
Three technical sessions on Human-Elephant conflict, Elephant Habitat Development & Elephant healthcare were organized on this occasion. Shri Sashi Paul, Additional PCCF(Wildlife), Shri Suresh Pant, Additional PCCF, Berhampur Circle, Shri Lingaraj Otta, Additional PCCF ,Rourkela Circle, Dr Lala AK Singh, Wildlife Expert, Dr Chanchal Sar, Elephant Scientist, Dr Indramani Nath, Professor, OUAT, Sudeep Nayak, DFO, Khordha, Sasmita Lenka, DFO, Athgarh, Anshu Pragyan Das, DFO, Mahanadi, Kshama Sarangi, DFO, Deogarh, Biswaraj Panda, DFO, Balasore, Samyak Samantra, DFO, Athmallick, Dr Arun Mishra, DFO, Sundargarh, T. Ashok Kumar, DFO, Kalahandi South, Sangram Beheram, DFO, Rairakhol, DD Hanumant, DFO, Nayagarh, Dr Aloka Das, Senior Veterinary Officer, Nandankanan Zoological Park participated in the different technical sessions.
In the valedictory function, Dr Sandeep Tripathy, PCCF & HoEF attended as Chief Guest. Among others, Odisha, Shri Jitendra Kumar, PCCF(Forest Diversion & Nodal). Sister B.K Leena, Advisor of trust attended as guests of honour. About 400 participants including forest field staff and VSS members from different divisions were present on this occasion.